This is Why We Broke Up

This is why we broke up.
Not because of distance,
Or time,
Or the distance between our times,
It was more than than–
It was that you came and went far too many times,
And I, always welcoming, let you in.

 

 
It was that I let you in far too many times,
That I forgot how you leaving wounded me too deeply,
How I willing I was to be wounded, thinking
It was the price to pay to be with you.

 

 
It was that I got wounded deeply, far too many times
That I forgot how to trust you lovingly,
That I take you in, half thinking,
Wondering when you’re leaving, again,
And if you do,
Would it be for good?
If not, when are you coming back?

 

 

It was that you think you’re unworthy
Regardless of what I say
Regardless of what I do
Regardless of how much I wanted you to stay.

 

 

It was that you think you’d disappoint me
Until I told you nothing else mattered then,
If I could be with you–
That’s when you realized, it never mattered
Long as you could be with me.

 

 

But it’s too late now,
We’re past that now, or so we say
We have surrendered, you and I
Burned out too quickly when we were young and foolish,
Got hurt too much when we were brave and fearless.

 

 

It’s too late now,
For you have pushed away me far too much,
Far too many times,
And I could not choose you,
When you give me away.

 

What is it now, then?
What are we now, then?
When there is this love we cannot abandon,
When we cannot act for we do not know what we want–

 

 

This is why we broke up.

 

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

