Face

This is the face I make
When I wear my heart on my sleeve,
When I bare my soul on my face,
When I let it all out,
For anyone keen enough to notice.

This is the face I make
When I’m down on my luck
When I pull the shortest draw
When everyone’s swimming while I drown,
If anyone cares to notice.

This is the face I make
When I feel the whole world looking
When I feel the whole world knowing
What dark hole I’m in
Hoping no one would notice.

This is the face I make
When perhaps through it all
I’d think to myself that it isn’t I alone,
That I don’t have the monopoly of pain,
That everyone suffers as much, or less, or even more than I do.

This is the face I make
When I know that this is the face everyone makes
When you try to put on a straight face, a brave face
When you try to hide what you wish someone would see,
This is the face we make.

2 thoughts on “Face

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

