On Gratitude

Sometimes I forget
That the sun rises for me too
As it does for the one I loved.

Sometimes I forget
That the universe is made up
Of the same dust as I am.

Sometimes I forget
That people need other’s light
And so do I.

Sometimes I forget
So thank you.

Thank you for reminding me.
Thank I too, am special,
Worth waking up to,
Worth talking to,
Worth spending time with.

Thank you for reminding me.
Thank I too, am human,
Fallible and imperfect,
And I cannot give all
Without a smile back to me at the very least,
A small nod
To know that you know that I exist.

Thank you for reminding me
That I too, am worthy
Of all the beauty I’d wish for everyone
Of the goodness I’d willingly give to anyone.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

