On Solitude, Bravery, and Fear

I’m in the chasms of my solitude,
Finding peace myself,
With myself,
For myself.

But the chasms had grown deeper,
Hollowed wider,
Colder,
Darker.

And I am afraid that I’m sinking deeper,
Descending farther,
Braver,
Lonelier.

Oh yes, I am terrified,
By my own courage,
That I might think I can make it
On my own,
For my own.

I am terrified,
That in knowing so,
Doing so,
I’ll never go out,
Never let anyone in.

I am terrified,
That in doing so,
I’ll find contentment
On the idyllic tides inside my mind,
That I’d cut the cords
Of those who try to get it
And take me out.

That I’d snuff the fire
Of those who bring candles
To give me light.

For the first time in my life,
I am afraid
Of my own bravery.
Such contradiction exists,
More dangerous so,
That I find it hard to resist.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

