Mistakes

The mistake I had
Was to follow my heart.
To believe this naive voice inside
To trust, to believe, to have faith.
To hope, to choose, to say yes.
To love, be left, to wait, to welcome you back again.

The mistake I had.
Was to believe in you
More than the signs I see,
Because I hoped that we could be,
Because I wanted to,
Because I hoped, too.

The mistake I had
Was to let go of fear,
To trust you more than I fear myself,
Without seeing you
Slowly letting go of me.

The mistake I had
Was to think
That I’ll ever have a break
Like everyone else does
Like what I think everyone deserves,
And perhaps yes, everyone but me.

The mistake I had
Was to think
Maybe someday
Something will work out for me,
And this cycle would end,
That of heartbreak and poetry.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

