Elevator

I looked at the mirror.
Looked past my face
To hers.
Her face.
How she covers her face.
With her hair.
How she covers her eyes
Which are otherwise
Staring back at me
As if I didn’t know.
As if she didn’t know.

Dawned on me.
Why.
Why she looks at me.
With such disdain.
With such angst.
With such…disgust?
And yet–
With such sadness
And solace,
And love.

Threw myself on the ground.
And she does the same.
Except.
She pulls me up.
When I can’t get up.
And I, she.
Tears up the walls
When I burn bridges
Rings up the bells
When I dare silence the noise.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

