Change

People change
Slowly
Like the trickle of the last drops of rain
Flowing
Down the pipe
Unassuming
Unsure
But moving nonetheless.

And yes I have accepted that as a fact.
That I, too, will change
Just as you will.
And yes I know, too
That you may stop being who I met
Who I’m talking to,
But you will always
Always
Be the one I fell
And
Falling for.

And yes, I, too know
That the same goes for me.
But.
It scares me.
What if?
What if you have changed so much
That I’ve become estranged to you?
What if?
What if you’ve changed so much
That I don’t fit in anymore?

I am scared.
Because I know how much I love you
Regardless
But.
What if you don’t?
And.
Against the doctrines of the martyrs,
Against the words of romanticism,
If it isn’t too much to ask,
Will you promise to stay?
Will you promise to not ask me to give this up?
Will you promise not to let me go?

3 thoughts on “Change

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

