Stream

I guess I was naive,
Optimistic,
Idealistic,
But you were a hundred fold–
More that what was good for you;
More than I deserve.

I guess I trusted the world,
Let it carry me,
Aloft anywhere it whims,
But I lost trust in it–
More than I could carry;
More than I should.

And I just wish that I was whole,
Not a shred of who I was before,
Not a tattered piece of who I call me,
That you loved–
And praised and adored and humbled,
And look at as if all stars have burned out but me.

But you trusted the world,
And though I was trying to regain it,
You trusted it all,
And perhaps you were ignorant–
And blissful, and happy,
And so I was, too.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

