This, In Lieu Of My Candor

Let me talk to you:

With words, my own writ of truth

Indelible–

As your name in my mind.

 

Let this speak for me:

Of the things I’d never dare say,

Last night, and today, and perhaps tomorrow morning,

And on days and days on end

 

Let my poems speak to you:

Of the times I think of you–

Only when you weren’t in front of me.

That, and your smile that called for poetry.

 

Let this mark this night:

Of the solitude except for the memory of you

And how I pretend to talk things through-

This is what your absences do.

 

Let this settle in your mind,

As well as the words I left behind.

Like the little girl and her clever bread crumbs,

These words and more for your beautiful mind.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

