Song

I’d write them straight out of my mind,

In careless loops of letters on any paper I could find.

Like a barren land at the first drop of rain,

Like drowsy eyes at the first kick of caffeine.

 

I’d stare at the lines ’til they start to dance,

Figure out the patterns of their trance.

Like a little child learning his first steps,

Like any brave soul exploring unknown depths.

 

I’d play the tune and sing along,

In endless loops ’til nothing’s wrong.

Like a broken record going back to where it started,

Like the hearts of those left behind by their dear departed.

 

And when everything’s said and done,

I’d bid them goodbye and begone.

Pretend I didn’t see the light they bring,

Pretend I didn’t mean the words I sing.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

