Today You Showed Your Eyes

I’ve always held my breath
Whenever I see your name
But today, something has changed:
Today you showed your face.

Today you showed your eyes
And the way they smile with your lips,
Today you showed no lies,
The whole you, down to the tips.

Today you showed your eyes
And the way they crinkle with your nose,
Today I saw where your soul resides,
That moment I was happiest, but no one knows.

Today you showed your eyes
And the way they move with your hands,
Today you showed where your true self hides,
The one-almost-fantasy where reality hopes to land.

Today you showed your eyes
And the way they shift with your words,
Today I showed you mine,
But never the me, with you in my works.

Today you showed your eyes
And the way they close when you breathe,
Today you showed another reason to be mesmerized,
And add another smile to my wreath.

Today you showed your eyes.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

