I Keep Searching For It

I keep searching for it,
    The way my absence sets in your mind,
    The way my silence slips into you, like a mystery,
        like the ghost of a breath lingering long enough to be missed.

I keep searching for it,
    The way my poems paint your face in my mind,
    The way my words trace the landscape of your memories, like the sea,
        like the nooks and folds of my unmade bed.

I keep searching for it,
    The way my thoughts would find their way to you,
    The way my mind searches for you, a face and a name,
        like a shadow, a silhouette of an unnamed being,

I keep searching for it,
    I keep searching for you, and I did found you,
    In the multiple faces and varied voices, faces and names I’d soon forget,
        like a face painted upon layers and layers of images–
        imagined and real alike.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

