And The Only Reason

and the only reason
is that i care about you
and how you see me
and though you accept me as i am
through my faults and all,
i just want me
not to give you any reason
to think otherwise
or to see me
as a lost cause
or an object of pity.

and the only reason
is that you are dear to me
and i wouldn’t want to give you
any reason to think otherwise,
and that though words confuse you
and you hear all the noise,
and none of my voice,
i just want to be clear
that i’d like you to stay near.

and the only reason
is that i am rather fond of you
and that before i let go
and plunge into the clouds
where my dreams are woven
with yours, into yours,
only you can stop this
and i hope you don’t.

and the only reason
is that i want to see your face
and hear you laugh
and that it would tear me apart
if you think that i don’t feel so,
that i’m untrue,
that i lie,
that i am not who you thought i am
the me that makes you laugh
because it is i
and it is my joy
to do so.

and the only reason
is that i would not want
my voice to betray
my practiced, straight face,
because i do not want to muddle
whatever it is that is growing,
with the yearnings of my wicked mind,
and the fact that i cannot accept
that i am down this road again,
or probably not,
i would not know for sure.

and the only reason
is that you are special
and that when i care less
about the meter and rhymes,
all that counts
is that you are in mind
as i write, and as i think,
with tears welling up my eyes
for the fact that
you shall never know these things.
or perhaps you would,
if the universe permits it.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

