I Have Walked The Earth

I have walked the earth, and have come along way,
And now I am waiting to catch the last train home.
The sun’s going down, and at the waiting shed, I’d stay,
As it might not come tonight, and I hope it won’t.

I look at my worn out shoes, at the end of my tattered pants,
And the seams of my shirt, fraying with noodles of thread.
I remember the time I bought them all brand new, crisp in my hands,
They looked good on me, and nothing else was said.

I’d go around, and watch how people watched me walk,
The confident strides of walking to nowhere.
I’d stop and watch how people watched me talk,
The tales of a meandering youth in his prime.

I set out, and saw things, and grew old,
And, oh, have I told you about that great evening ball?
I realize how things change, when frequently retold,
Same old stories, but now feeling like an old, abandoned hall.

I talked and talked of my long lost youth,
And  had nothing to add from the aging me,
I talked more often to cover this truth,
To take it out of the light so no one would see.

I have walked the earth, and have come along way,
And now I am waiting to catch the last train home.
It has come at last, but look at it this way,
The path it has taken isn’t even half as far as I thought I roamed.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

