I Sighed As I Deleted Those Lines

I wrote two stanzas last night,
Four lines each, the rhymes never quite right.
I felt all words lost in me,
Tangled up with my own frailty.
I sighed as I deleted those lines.

I wrote two stanzas this morning,
As I listened to my heart yearning.
I wondered why bad things happen to good people,
And all other cliches I see down that hole.
I sighed as I deleted those lines.

I wrote two stanzas before this poem,
About the places my mind used to roam.
I asked about risking, and hurting, losing–
All for the reason of loving.
I sighed as I deleted those lines.

I am on my fourth poem’s fourth stanza,
Staring, thinking, “this is so meta,”
I wonder if this is going anywhere,
Thinking, I just need to rant somewhere.
I sigh as I continue to type.

(I deleted those, but undid it anyway–
Must continue, though thoughts may stray)

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

