My Other Earring

I lost my other earring in my sleep.
The half of its pair on my ear,
The other half hiding between the folds,
The creases, and edges of my pillows and blanket.

I lost my other earring in my sleep.
The half of its pair perched on me,
The other half going on a journey,
Desolate, alone and embittered under the mattress.

I lost my other earring in my sleep.
The half of its pair sitting on me,
As I searched desperately for its other half,
Under the covers, the nooks, and shelves.

I lost my other earring in my sleep.
And in never found the other half,
And I sat down, feeling the flesh exposed by its absence,
The missing piece of this pair.

I lost my other earring in my sleep.
And now I face a dilemma:
Do I take the other one down,
Or do I wear it proud, showing how I choose to reveal what’s amiss?

4 thoughts on “My Other Earring

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

