He Said, She Said I

“You are too beautiful to be left,” he said.
“Your attempt at flattery, nonetheless cliché,
Does not excuse me from the reality of the world,”
She said.

“You are too precious to let go,” he said.
“Your kind flattery, nonetheless cliché,
Does not shield me from the inevtibilities in life,”
She said.

“Those eyes– they make me fall in love,” he said.
“Your kind appreciation of my art, nonetheless flattering,
Doe not set you apart from the rest– opportunists,”
She said.

“That voice, so angelic, it puts me to sleep,” he said.
“Your kind comment, though refreshing to my ears,
Does not set you apart from the rest– opportunists,”
She said.

“May I get your number? Invite you to lunch?” he said.
“Opportunist,” she said. She said, in her mind.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

