Under the Yellow Light

He’s a stranger. Again.
A man with a name that rings a bell,
A man with a silhouette that looks familiar from a distant past.
Under the yellow light.

He’s a stranger. Again.
A man with a voice long forgotten,
A man with a face starting to fade into the dark.
Under the yellow light.

He’s a stranger. Again.
A man who reminds me of a small, dull ache,
A man who embodies what my memory makes him out to be.
Under the yellow light.

He’s a stranger. Again.
A man far from the one I knew a lifetime ago.
A man far from the one I adored a lifetime ago.
Under the yellow light.

He’s a stranger. Again.
I keep telling myself: He’s a stranger.
My mind is playing cruel tricks on my eyes,
Under the yellow light.

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

