Figment III | Not Quite an Allusion

He never came back–
         A letter written in his voyage,
         His life outside what’s between the two of us:
         This is what came back in his stead.

He never came back–
         Said he’ll have to carry on his mission,
         And I’ll have to go on with mine:
         And we must do so, separately.

He never came back–
         I did everything I could,
         Held firm to this promise:
         Yet, he never came back.

He never came back–
       I prayed to all the gods and goddesses,
       Called out to their temples and names,
       Yet, he never came back.

He never came back–
       If I could only plead,
       Oh, Homer change this story:
       Change how it ends–
       My appeal as your character:
       A person borne out of your pen.
       I plead, I beg, I cry:
       Inspired by the gods and goddesses themselves,
       Turn your last chapter around,
       Turn it around: for me, for us–
       For love.

2 thoughts on “Figment III | Not Quite an Allusion

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

