A Eulogy to a Friend

My heart grieves to losing a friend
Not from fire, or death,
Water, or disease,
But from an infection
Far worse than any plague
That ever crawled the face of earth.

My heart grieves to losing a friend
Not from a wound, or a cut,
Gangrene even–
But from a stab.

My heart grieves to losing a friend
Not in a fight, or a match
A battle, or a war,
But to a tragedy
Whose sole winner
Is the true, the selfless
And the kind.

My heart grieves to losing a friend
For falling–
Not from a cliff, a ledge, or a bridge,
But to a pit
Far more treacherous
Than the winding labyrinths
Of the mind.

7 thoughts on “A Eulogy to a Friend

  1. Himani B says:

    this actually reminded me of someone in my life. I lost that person too. would you mind if I ask you what inspired this? and what happened to this person?

      • Himani B says:

        yes please, would appreciate that 🙂 and please keep writing, keep the thoughts flowing..they’re beautiful. I wish you the very best in your journey and a lot of love and light. will drop by again..have to! 😀

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

