Am I the Only One

Am I the only one
Who remembers people’s faces:
Eyes, nose, lips, everything–
Everyone’s, except mine?

Am I the only one
Who recognizes voices
And match them to their owners,
But gets surprised by my own?

Am I the only one
Who recalls other people’s little life events,
No matter how trivial,
But remains foreign from my own history?

Am I the only one
Who tells people to take things easy,
And that it’ll be fine,
When I’m half convinced myself?

Am I the only one
Who makes people believe
That I am strong,
When I just wanted to cry all along?

Am I the only one
Who values thoughts and ideas so much,
But are terrified of them,
Especially my own?

Am I the only one?
I hope I am not.

2 thoughts on “Am I the Only One

  1. Kate says:

    u r definitely not the only one ๐Ÿ™‚ great poem… i feel kinda same – so there r at least two of us ๐Ÿ˜‰

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

