Happy. Out of Focus

I’m breathing easy today
Everything feeling light and breezy
The silent fear of memory
Beneath the idle joy of forgetfulness

I know they’re there– my daunting fears
Things I hide throughout the years
But not today, when things are good
Not today, when smiling is my mood

Words come slow on days like this
So poetry is something I might dismiss
But it’s there when things get hard to bear
So I must write today, for we’re always together

I’m out of focus, zoning in and out
My mind is a mess, can’t figure it out
So before things get weird, queer or disturbing
I’ll stop right here, look, words are rhyming

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

