Oh, Forgetfulness

Everything seems distant now–
The smiles, the feeling,
The images in my mind:
All starting to fade to forgetfulness.

Everything seems distant now–
His footprints in my heart,
Slowly easing away from memory:
The peaceful feeling of forgetfulness.

Everything seems distant now–
The hopes and disappoinments,
The kindled fire that died:
All drifting away, towards forgetfulness.

Everything seems distant now–
The bitterness, the hate,
The frayed, defeated heart:
All melting away. Oh, forgetfulness:

Your welcoming arms, envelop me,
Hide my sorrows, kindle my hope.
Melt every shred of sadness,
Push them away from the light–
Let me see the goodness;
Let me see beyond the clouds of the past:

Give me peace.

3 thoughts on “Oh, Forgetfulness

  1. Hi there! I’ve nominated you for the “Dragon Loyalty Award”. Congratulations! Follow this link: http://painttheworldwithwords.wordpress.com/2013/12/26/a-great-end-to-this-year-being-nominated-for-the/

Would love to hear your thoughts! :)

